Last Updated: Mar 8, 2017
- Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
This site provides news and reports for human rights impacts of over 6000 companies.
Under the "Search by Subject or Topic" menu, choose the Companies option to find company profiles and industry reports.
- Business Insights: Essentials
Get company information, access articles about companies by subject (e.g., legal issues), and more.
- CSI Market
Free, online resource with information about public companies' suppliers, competitors, product segments, and company divisions.
Covers the majority of Fortune 500 Companies
- International Company Information Sources
Research guide from Rutgers University Libraries
- UMass Business Collection (access at UMass)
Access business-themed resources at W.E.B. DuBois Library at UMass. Recommended databases: ABI/INFORM, IBISWorld, MarketLine, Mergent Online & Reference USA.
- Supply Chain Management Information Portal
Maintained by the Supply Chain Resource Cooperative (SCRC) at North Carolina State University. Includes definitions of terminology, reports, and news.
These sites provide overviews to help you understand workplace issues -- or human rights violations or concerns -- to take into consideration when reporting on country manufacturing practices.
The main tip for researching minimum wage? Check the metadata! (Metadata provides information about the data you've found). If you see information buttons or explanations of how a particular number was researched or calculated, take a moment to read & contextualize the numbers.
If you find minimum wage data in a newspaper or journal article, try to track down the official source of that number to verify. You may also want to triangulate or corroborate your information across multiple sources.
- Wikipedia List of Minimum Wages by Country
Check the citation(s) for your country, and try to verify that the information in the Wikipedia entry is correct. You might use one of the sources below, or try getting the information from your country's government documents (e.g., websites, agency reports).
- ILOSTAT Database
To get to minimum wage data: go to the "Browse indicators by subject" section of the page, click on the "Earnings and labor cost" link, then go to Monthly minimum wage.
- Real Minimum Wage for OECD Countries
Note: Minimum wage data from the OECD are calculated in alignment with Purchasing Power Partity (PPP), which factors different countries' costs of living when comparing how far earners' wages would go in different contexts.
- Contextualizing notes on OECD minimum wage data
- How to cite the data you find
See the entry for "Data Sets" on this page for formatting guidelines for citing data sets.
Use these to find news coverage of your company/industry.