General image sites
-
NYPL Digital Gallery
700,000 digitized images from the New York Public Library. -
Creative Commons Search
Search for images that are in the public domain OR have been granted creative commons status. -
ContentDM Collections: Browse
Look through all the digital repositories in the ContentDM system. -
VIA Search | Harvard University
A free online image database. - Web Gallery of Art "A searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance, and Baroque periods (1200-1700), currently containing over 15,400 reproductions." Biographies, commentaries, guided tours are available. Provides good-sized images with detailed file information.
- World Images "The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery." This site is great for images of Asian art.
- Google Art Project "Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of
artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own
collection of masterpieces."
photography web sites
- International Center of Photography
- American Museum of Photography
- Albumen Photographs .
- Art History Resources on the Web: Prints and Photographs
- Art of the Photogravure
- Flickr: The Commons
- George Eastman House: International Museum of Photography and Film
- History of Photography
- Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division
- Library of Congress Daguerreotype Collection
- NYPL Digital Gallery
- Smithsonian Photography Initiative
Luna Commons Images (includes Archivision and Amica images)
Gain access to hundreds of thousands of images that you can use for your classes. The Luna Commons collection includes Hampshire College's Archivision collection.
Five College Museums Database

- Five College MuseumsA searchable database of the art collections of the Five Colleges and Historic Deerfield.
Find something you like and then go see it in person at one of the Five College Museums (many of these objects may be in storage, but you can usually make an appointment to see what is not on display: ask Rachel for help!).
Five College Images
Each of the Five Colleges maintains collections of digital and analog images to support teaching and research. For information about each collection consult:
- Amherst, Digital Resources
- Hampshire College Digital Image Archive (DIA): licensed images for use by Hampshire affiliates (note: this will not work off campus)
- Mount Holyoke, Digital Collections
- Smith, Imaging Center
- UMass Amherst, Image Resources
Camio image database
CAMIO® — OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.
What's on view at Hampshire
- Hampshire College Main GalleryClick this link to see what is currently on exhibit in the main gallery on the lower level of the Harold F. Johnson Library building.
Arts Librarian |
Contact Info 559-5433 #103, Library 1st floor Harold F. Johnson Library 893 West Street Amherst, MA 01002 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: architecture, art, art education, artists books, child drama, dance, images, music, photography, theatre, visual resources |


Loading...
