This is the "Home" page of the "Inventory 2017/18" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Inventory 2017/18  

Last Updated: Nov 14, 2017 URL: http://libguides.hampshire.edu/inventory2017 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

QUESTIONS ABOUT INVENTORY

Sarah Fitz is overseeing inventory. Her hours are M-W, 4pm-midnight, 2-10pm Thursdays, and 9:30-5:30pm Sundays. Her email is skfLO@hampshire.edu

 

Inventory Basics

GLORIOUS INVENTORY, A HOW-TO IN NINE EASY STEPS

Note: Inventory and Shelf-Reading are different tasks. If you are looking for the shelf-reading guide, go here.


In order to begin an inventory shift you will need the spare laptop and barcode scanner. These are kept in the video game cabinet; ask a Circ staff member to get it for you.

Once you have the laptop...

STEP 1.
Open Aleph Cataloging and login with:
USERNAME: HCINV
PASSWORD: DAKIN

STEP 2.
From the top menu, click ITEMS ---> Inventory Marking

STEP 3.
Enter the Shelf Report Number for the collection/call number range that you will be inventorying. If you are unsure what collection to work within, refer to the Inventory Tracking Google Sheet to see where the last student assistant left off. If the last collection has been completely inventoried, check with a staff member to see what range to move onto next. If the previous student has not logged their last call number on the Google Sheet, ask a Circ staff member for assistance.

SHELF REPORT NUMBERS / CALL NUMBER/COLLECTION

4. P
5. Q - Z
6. HQ - N
7. A - D
8. E
9. Div III
10. Seydel Regular
11. Seydel Special
12. F - HN
13. Kael
15. DVDs

Examples:
1. Call Number Range: HQ-N ---> enter Shelf Report Number 6
2. Collection: Seydel Special --> enter Shelf Report Number 11

STEP 4.
Select LOST/MISSING Process Statuses. Put checks next to LOST, LOST AND PAID, MISSING, ON SEARCH

STEP 5.
Check RECIEVE POPUP MESSAGE and PRINT REPORT AT END OF SESSION.

STEP 6.
Check Error Types to include ITEMS IS ON LOAN, ITEM IS LOST OR MISSING, ITEM IS NOT IN DATABASE.
Do not check "ITEM IS NOT IN PLACE." Click OK.

STEP 7.
The Inventory Marking Box will appear once you click OK. It will show you the total number of items in the selected collection/range, followed by the number of items found*, number of items to be processed, and an empty box for the barcode. Before you begin scanning, make sure you click into the barcode box.

Now you are ready to scan! Scan those barcodes! Go, Go!

As you scan, set aside any items that pop-up Aleph messages to bring to Circulation (see Step 8 for which items go to which staff member).

STEP 8.
When you have completed the assigned area/range/collection or been working for as long as asked by Circ staff, click Close.

An Inventory Marking- Item Errors Report will print to the Circulation Office printer. Any items that are checked out to patrons will need to be run through Check In in Aleph, back at the Circ desk.

  • If you find items with a Billed status, please bring them to Suzanne.
  • Items listed as Lost or Missing should be given to Circ staff.
  • Any requested items should be handled as regular holds, stamped & put on the Hold Shelf.
  • Any items listed as Item is Not in Database should be given to Jane for processing.


STEP 9.
BEFORE YOU LEAVE AT THE END OF YOUR SHIFT, record the call number of the last item that you scanned on the Inventory Tracking Google Sheet:

This will let the next person working in the section know where to begin scanning.




*Note: The call number ranges/collections are not equally populated. It may take longer to inventory some sections than others; you are not necessarily expected to completely scan the entire range within the period you are doing inventory. This is why recording your final call number on the Google Sheet is so important for the next assistant; otherwise they will have to identify where to begin by painstakingly comparing barcodes.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Sarah Fitzgibbons
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip