General image sites
- Google Art Project "Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces."
- Artsy "Artsy’s mission is to make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection." Powered by the Art Genome Project.
- Getty Trust Open Content Program : On August 12, 2013, ".the Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds all the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose."
- World Images "The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery." This site is great for images of Asian art.
- National Gallery of Art Images (Washington, D.C.)
photography web sites
ARTstor image database
Includes Images for Academic Publishing (IAP). Available through ARTstor and initiated by the Metropolitan Museum. Provides scholars with FREE high quality images for academic publications. A number of additional museums and resources are currently in the process of adding images to the collection. Users without access to ARTstor may still request access to the IAP collection.
Luna Commons Images (includes Archivision and Amica images)
Gain access to hundreds of thousands of images that you can use for your classes. The Luna Commons collection includes Hampshire College's Archivision collection.
Five College Museums Database
Five College Images
Camio image database
CAMIO® — OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.