Banana tree - Nassau, Bahamas

Winslow Homer, 1885.
Get online background information
- Cambridge Collections Online - Companions to Literature
- Oxford Literature Collection
- Cambridge Histories Online
- Oxford English Dictionary
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
- MLA Literary Research Guide
- Feminism in Literature
- American History through Literature, 1820-1870
- American History through Literature, 1870-1920
- Smithsonian Global Sound
- ARTstor
Get background information in print sources
A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Thought in English
Call Number: REF PR9080 .A52 H57 2005
ISBN: 0231135076
Covers the major events, figures, and movements that have shaped the postcolonial history of the Anglophone world. Arranged alphabetically by topic, bringing together the postcolonial histories of Africa, the Middle East, South Asia, Southeast Asia, Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific, the Caribbean, and Canada. Each entry provides a summary of a historical event or topic and suggestions for further readings. Also includes substantive essays on historiography and women's histories.
World Writers in English (2 volumes)
Call Number: REF PR9080.5 .W67 2004
ISBN: 0684312891
A collection of 40 critical and biographical essays on writers from around the postcolonial world, including India and Asia, Australia and New Zealand, Africa, the Caribbean, and Canada, who write primarily in English. A selected bibliography of primary works and secondary sources concludes each essay. The set includes a list of writers by nationality and an essential index for quick title access.

Call Number: REF PR9080 .A52 E53 1994
ISBN: 0415113458
Individual writers, national literary developments, and major genres that provide a cross-cultural view are all assessed. Entries on individuals include a short identifier, coverage of works, and biography, and for most a brief bibliography that makes further exploration of little-known authors easier. The entries on the national literary movements and the genres are lengthy and include a bibliography.
Want some help? |
Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
