This is the "Begin here" page of the "Black Atlantic" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Sep 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.hampshire.edu/blackatlantic Print Guide RSS Updates

Begin here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Banana tree - Nassau, Bahamas

Winslow Homer, 1885.

 

Get background information in print sources

Cover Art
A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Thought in English - Prem Poddar and David Johnson, ed.
Call Number: REF PR9080 .A52 H57 2005
ISBN: 0231135076
Covers the major events, figures, and movements that have shaped the postcolonial history of the Anglophone world. Arranged alphabetically by topic, bringing together the postcolonial histories of Africa, the Middle East, South Asia, Southeast Asia, Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific, the Caribbean, and Canada. Each entry provides a summary of a historical event or topic and suggestions for further readings. Also includes substantive essays on historiography and women's histories.

Cover Art
World Writers in English (2 volumes) - Jay Parini, ed.
Call Number: REF PR9080.5 .W67 2004
ISBN: 0684312891
A collection of 40 critical and biographical essays on writers from around the postcolonial world, including India and Asia, Australia and New Zealand, Africa, the Caribbean, and Canada, who write primarily in English. A selected bibliography of primary works and secondary sources concludes each essay. The set includes a list of writers by nationality and an essential index for quick title access.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English (2 Volumes) - Eugene Benson and L.W. Conolly, ed.
Call Number: REF PR9080 .A52 E53 1994
ISBN: 0415113458
Individual writers, national literary developments, and major genres that provide a cross-cultural view are all assessed. Entries on individuals include a short identifier, coverage of works, and biography, and for most a brief bibliography that makes further exploration of little-known authors easier. The entries on the national literary movements and the genres are lengthy and include a bibliography.

Want some help?

Profile Image
Bonnie Vigeland
Contact Info
559-5649
101 Library first floor
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip